Waking up from a “Dream”

12 Oct

For my recent birthday, I was blessed to travel with my hubby on a quick Disney cruise out of Port Canaveral.  I just have to share with you that fall is the best time to travel on cruise lines if you want deeper discounts. This is partly because of the hurricane season and traditionally slower travel dates. I think we saved at least 30-40% off the normal prices.

As far as entertainment and luxury values, I would say this cruise was easily in my top two. I added a little photo album to my Facebook account. Friend me and check it out here

Any Disney fan will tell you that Disney does everything better. I’m not what you would call a “superfan,” but I’m slowly realizing just what these fans mean when they say this. We sailed off from Port Canaveral on the Disney Dream for a 3-day cruise with stops in Nassau and Castaway Cay, Bahamas.

Many people have a misconception that Disney cruises are only for parents who want to bring the kids along. Their cruises have been ranked the best for families by several surveys, but couples can have just as much fun. There are adult-only pools and lounges, plus the kid stuff brings out the inner-child. You don’t have to bring kids, but you must be willing to embrace your own inner-child. We watched Brave in a comfy 3-d theater, went to a Broadway style Disney show, but we also tried out a champagne tasting class and dined in a fine Italian-themed restaurant. There’s just something for everyone.

We also had a great time in the Bahamas. I got a little sun-burned, but it was worth it. We toured the Junkanoo Museum and several historical forts in Nassau. Then Disney’s private island, Castaway Cay, set us into a relaxed mood with leisurely bike rides and a private, adults only beach area.

I’m really thankful we were able to go and glad we got back safely, but I must admit I’m suffering from a little vacay withdrawal. 

See you in the morning (Monday),

Bridgett

Leave a Reply

