National Watermelon Day? Really?!

3 Aug

As I was looking through my vacation days and holiday time left this year, I realized how fast this year is flying by. Before you know it, it will be Christmas! In the meantime, there are plenty of other celebratory holidays left on the calendar. For instance, today, August 3rd, is National Watermelon Day! I know, I’m not kidding. Thankfully, I did stock up the last time I went to the grocery store. We put ours in the fridge and cut it up later. With a 92% water content, watermelon is a perfect treat on these hot days we’ve been having!

According to www.watermelon.org there are about 300 different kinds of watermelon and the heaviest ever weighed 262 pounds!

I did some additional research on wild and wacky holidays just to see what else is out there for August. I learned there are plenty left in this calendar year.  This Sunday, don’t forget International Beer Day and National Underwear Day. Hmmm, this doesn’t sound like a good combination…LOL!

The following are more interesting dates that I will refrain from trying to comment extensively on as I’d like you to use your own imagination on how to celebrate!

August 6: Wiggle Your Toes

August 10: National Lazy Day

August 13: Left Handers Day

August 15: National Relaxation Day

August 26: Toilet Paper Day

Happy “Holidays?”

See you in the morning!

Bridgett

Leave a Reply

